This Tuesday over that The Simple Dollar, there was a post entitled “Toxic.” In this post, Trent Hamm discusses five things in his life that he felt were having a “poisoning” affect and how he took steps to “detox.”

 

This post really struck a chord with me (Dawn), especially the first toxin Trent mentions, his love of a certain soft drink. I’m the type of person who can’t stand drinking water. I also can’t stand drinking milk. I’ll drink certain fruit juices, but what I really love is pop (soda for those of you not from the midwest). I’ve been that way for as long as I can remember.

 

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve gotten more conscious of what I consume by trying to eat/drink healthier. And I have taken steps to “detox.” I gave up my favorites, Dr. Pepper and Cherry Coke, cold turkey about 2 years ago and haven’t gone back. Unfortunately, Mt. Dew has taken their place.

 

Like Trent, I will often buy a 20 oz. at a store or a glass at a restaurant for $2-$3. I end up feeling guilty for it, though usually for wasting money, not for drinking the pop. Based on this, I would say I easily spend $15-$20 a month just on pop (which doesn’t even take into account the 2 liters I will buy at the grocery store to have at home). It’s not enough to break the bank, but it’s enough to make me feel like I should be making a change, my personal “Latte Factor.”

 

Trent suggests figuring out five things that are “poisoning” your life and take steps to “detox.” While I’m not going to do what he did to stop drinking his favorite pop (I can’t bring myself to do that!), I am going to think about what steps I might take to at least reduce my pop intake and the amount of money I spend on it. I already know before I start that I’ll feel much better for it based on my experiences in the past with Dr. Pepper and Cherry Coke. But it’s still hard to take the first step when it’s been a part of your life for so long.

 

What small things in your life are poisoning you? What step can you take to detox?

 

 

  • Disclaimer: The information on this blog is not meant for specific financial advice. The ideas/opinions stated are not suited for everyone, and readers should use their own judgment in applying them in their financial lives.

 

